top of page
  • Writer's pictureApril H.

La Sportiva Women's Solution Review

Check out the video review I did of the La Sportiva Women's Solution. Text of the audio in the video is below. Let me know in the comments if you have any questions about the Solution that I didn't answer in the review.



Hi everyone, this is Aprilclimbs and today I’ll be doing a review of the La Sportiva Solution.


The Solution is a drastically down-turned, aggressive climbing shoe that excels on overhanging sport routes, bouldering, gym climbing and technical face climbing. The Solution has 4 mm of Vibram XS Grip2 rubber, making them slightly less sensitive than the La Sportiva Futura. But don’t let that dissuade you from picking up these shoes - the Solution’s downturn shape and pointed toe offer the precision needed for bearing down on footholds - making these my go to shoes for steep routes when driving power through my toes is key to my success. I’ve found the Solution excels when I’m climbing on my home wall where the last two panels are over 45 degrees or any routes set on the what’s called the “Great Roof” at my local gym. The P3 rand system of the Solution also maintains the shoe's downturn aggressive profile for the life of the shoe.


There are some things other folks mentioned in reviews of the Solution that I wanted to address - primarily the break in period and the molded 3D heel cup. In my own personal experience I found that the Solution broke in fairly quickly for me and a lot less painfully when compared to the La Sportiva Kataki. I’ve also heard that the molded 3D heel cup causes some comfort issues for some, which I partially felt during the break in period, but I haven’t had that experience since. The molded 3D heel cup is perfect for heel hooks - it gives you great traction and makes heel hooks feel super solid. I have not had any issues slipping out of the shoes while I heel hook.


The Solution also has a Fast Lacing System that cinches down with a hook and loop closure. Some folks have reported issues with the lace wearing out, but I haven’t had any issue with it despite climbing in the shoe 3-4 times a week in the gym for the last year or so. It’s super easy to adjust the shoes with this system.


All in all, I’m a big fan of the Solution.


bottom of page